New beginnings and regaining fitness

Today I had no excuses. I was waiting for a package to be delivered, the amazon tracker said it was not nearby yet and I was bored. The sky was blue, my butt is fat…time to get back on the bike.

Recent events have given me an obsession for photography, especially 35mm film cameras. That and reading has kept my mind off other things. Anyway while I was out I wanted a good photo of the bike and the blue sky, but no kick stand. I remembered reading a great blog about a magic stick. So that helped in this instance. I thought it was a weird thing to blog about at the time, but now I am grateful. Though I had no stick, I did have a water bottle. Voila.
 Perfect for instagram and a little needed break. I have found that recent events, new obsessions have lead to a lack of exercise and increase in fish and chips. This has cumulated in a gain of 10kg. Totally worth it. But now I feel the need to lose it again and get back to semi-fitness. Being back in Japan means a lack of readily available fish and chips and an increase in bike roads nearby.

Before all this occurred I could run 5km without thinking too much. I could also cycle 100km with a bit more thought. Now I have had to start a couch to 5K program on week one and don’t even talk to me about butt ache after just 20km on the bike. The good thing is that I have been at this stage before, I know I can do it, I know I can get better. It is just annoying to know that I ran the Tokyo Marathon in 2012, though I was close to last, and now I have to start again.

I really understand now why those 400lb people on “year to save my life” shows say, “well my mum/dad died and I ate everything on the planet to feed my grief”….or words to that effect. But that is not what mum would have wanted, it is not what I want.

So with blue skies and a fat butt I am on a new journey, a new beginning to fitness. Less maps, more thoughts. And maybe by cherry blossom season I can get up that damn hill.

We all have a journey, we all have a bridge to cross.

Posted on December 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

