Orrest Head Walk – Windermere

Quite frankly life has been a bit rubbish lately. As noted before, I have been back in the Uk for an extended period of time due to my mother’s illness. Unfortunately three weeks ago she lost her second battle with cancer. I love that word, “battle”. I can imagine my mum fighting off the cells on a horse with a sword, in full armour. She actually said, “stay strong, stand mighty!” in one of her more lucid moments, which added to the image.

So with the funeral “done and dusted” as mum would say, I took my dad out for a day in the Lake District. He stayed in Windermere to wander around while I walked up Orrest Head. This was the first walk ever done by Alfred Wainwright. Coming in from the city he fell in love with the area, I can see why. It really is one of the most beautiful parts of England.

This is an overview of the 5km walk. I think it is fairly safe in most weather conditions..most not all. Here is a link to the Strava entry created by my new TomTom watch. Love my new watch.

Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 15.50.08

The walk can be found in Wainwrights “The Outlying Fells of Lakeland”, which has shorter walks for the less fit….me, after months of sitting on a chair in the hospice.

This is the start of the walk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Start of the walk, just north and left of the information centre.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Follow the road up, the start is all paved.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think it is lovely in all seasons, especially autumn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This tree stump is along the route and contains coins of wishes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course there are lots of dry stone walls.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The view from a good resting spot. There are plenty of seats along the route for those needing a rest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It has rained for days if not weeks, so today is a pretty good weather day. It is not the “Lake District” for nothing..where do you think the lakes come from?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just up here you have to go through the dry stone wall…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…via this swinging gate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Thou who has given me eyes to see and love this sight so fair, give me a heart to find out thee and read thee everywhere.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View of Lake Windermere from the top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View with plaque and cairn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The way down the other side.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The houses in the area have to blend with the original style…but this is an original house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once the walk is done enjoy the lake and birds. Maybe take a boat tour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lake Windermere.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lake Windermere

 

If you ever visit England…forget London and travel North!

After the walk and the customary fish and chips we drove north to take in more of the area. Passing through Patterdale and Ullswater, my favourite part.

Also while researching this blog, I found this one written for DOGS!! It is a bit awesome. Since the passing of my mum I have noticed that every single dog I have passed has tried to give me a love. So if you have  a dog give them a hug from me, read this blog and give them a super day out.

Posted on November 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My deepest condolences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

