Biking to Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Today I had a little free time and a fairly nice day to take a ride. I chose a place close to a relatives house, just 5km up the road – The Yorkshire Sculpture Park (YSP). This place used to be a college that I attended while training to be a teacher. I once tried to cycle to the college, the same route, but I gave up. It was too hilly and I was too unfit. This time it took me just 20 minutes without stopping. I felt very proud of myself as I am almost 20 years older.

IMG_1393 IMG_1394 IMG_1395 IMG_1396

Look at Chav, my smashing scrapper….with no kickstand and an uncomfortable seat.

The YSP is a great place to wander around on a clear day. There are places to explore, trails, dog paths, sculptures, cafes, exhibits, experience/lesson days. It has it all. A pity I didn’t appreciate it when I went there for 4 years. I guess I was a little busy working full time and studying.

Here is a gallery of some of the exhibits outside, but there are plenty more sculptures in the grounds plus some inside galleries too. Visit when you have a chance. There are also examples of Henry Moore and an indoor gallery about him and his work.

Note though, there is no cycling allowed in the actual park.

After wandering around for a couple of hours and stopping for lunch it was time to tackle the 15km ride home. There are cycle paths around Wakefield. The town even has a website dedicated to their promotion. So I thought I would try to stick to them in the middle of town.

IMG_1439

But first getting to town.

IMG_1440  IMG_1443

This part of Wakefield is a little rural and quaint. I went past a cricket match next to a field of cows, how very English.

IMG_1441

Through town the route was hard to follow at points. The website and routes seems to be a good start, but I think it needs a bit more investment. I guess that is the same for most cities. I will try some of the other routes when I get a chance.

Overall it was a lovely day, but I need to invest in a comfier saddle. Here is my route home, I didn’t bother putting my initial 5km ride on as the first part of this route is the same. Just reverse the elevation in your head.

Posted on July 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

