Lake Teganuma – Walk and Ride

First free and sunny day of the summer break. So off I go. I looked at my places to cycle map and decide on Lake Teganuma. It is about an hour away, flat, and apparently has a cycle path most of the way around. I found a place to park and invited a couple of friends for a short work at the beginning of the jaunt. I had chosen the only paid parking lot around the whole lake, we soon walked passed another that was completely free and almost empty. I moved the dot on the map to that place.

IMG_2459 IMG_2460

Look at that sky!! Look at it 🙂

It is rainy season here and I have missed the blue sky. I wish I had brought my blue giant bike, but I wasn’t sure of some of the roads and decided against it. In the end it was a wise decision, but that was due to my own poor choice of paths not the lake’s fault.

IMG_2461 IMG_2462

The path at the start was great, perfect for cycling and walking.

IMG_2464 IMG_2465

Look I have friends!!! Tree-Hugger is pregnant and over-prepared man is the father. That one time he wasn’t quite so prepared 😉

Anyway, they came for a walk and to explore so I pushed my bike for a couple of kilometers. The whole lake is ladened with geocaches so we searched for a few. In the end I found six and then gave up as there was too much stopping and starting, plus there was a massive spider guarding one of them. It frightened me off a little. Huge HUGE!!

IMG_2467 IMG_2469

It really is a lovely place to go for a walk. There are lots of benches, a bird museum, from 1st July there are water features too, and in wisteria season, loads of, well, wisteria

IMG_2470 IMG_2472

At this point my pregnant friend was done in and had to satisfy the urge for curry. So from this point I cycled. The statistics and map of the rest of my journey can be found here. The gap in the track is where we walked.

At this point there seemed to be an influx of birds, did they know about the museum. Look, three little birds. All different kinds.

IMG_2473   IMG_2477 IMG_2478 IMG_2474

Duck duck coot

And then swans galore, actually a “wedge” of swans, who knew? There were loads of birds around the lake, perfect if you happen to run a bird photography group.

IMG_2476

Later on the cycle I passed a shrine with a huge rock carving of a sumo guy. I stopped to take a picture and almost missed the actual dojo on the ground further away. The shrine is called Genshima Shrine and can be found at coordinates 35.840905, 140.142412. I found nothing about it on the net, so if you know anything please add a comment.

IMG_2483 IMG_2484 IMG_2485 IMG_2486 IMG_2487

This box had a peep hole. Usually I wouldn’t do this, but as it is in the middle of nowhere and it is not like you are going to do the peeping….I took a picture of the inside.

IMG_2488 IMG_2489

And on with the ride. The path is better closer to the actual lake. The paths around the tributaries are none existent. That means if you have a road bike stick to the lake side. I will go back and do it again in wisteria time, with my road bike and stick to the path. I decided to go a bit further as I am a super rider now 😉 That meant I got to see the sumo shrine.

IMG_2492 IMG_2493 IMG_2494 IMG_2495

The writing on the path says walkers this side, cyclists this side. They are big letters aren’t they. You would think that it would be easy to follow. Hmm.

IMG_2496 IMG_2497 IMG_2498 IMG_2499 IMG_2500 IMG_2502 IMG_2503

It was a lovely day. I took my time, but still got a Queen of the Mountain on Strava, though I do think they need to change that QOM as there wasn’t any Ms, but still, I do love a QOM.

Posted on June 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Truly beautiful summer pictures. I love the last pic the most in which your bike was standing next to the flower field 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I appreciate that. If you look at one of my last posts you will see I started this due to a folding bike too, but I gave mine away last week. I admire your dedication to yours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

