Cherry Blossom Bike Ride

After it finally stopped raining I decided to go on a ride. I haven’t been on a 30km+ ride for a while and I think my bum is starting to forget how to sit on a bike. Right now Ibaraki is at the tail end of the cherry blossom season, days are getting longer, temperatures are rising, flowers are blooming and the insects are out. I mean really out, when you ride along a river remember to keep your mouth shut.

Here is the route I took today. Along the Kokaigawa river. I have done this route before and wrote about it, but this season is stunning. The whole west side of the river has a small road. It has the occasional car to deal with and they can get it bit close. Keep your eyes open and you will be fine. I decided to come back a different way as you can see by the route. The east side is fine, but I kind of wish I had come back the way I had gone.

IMG_0835 IMG_0837

Once you get to the building shaped like a large insect you will start to see loads of cherry blossoms. At this point you have to look out for foot traffic. All the way along the route you can see the yellow blooms of rapeseed.

IMG_1597

You can also get great views of Mount Tsukuba. I was so happy to get out and see the beautiful scenery I stopped and lay down in the fallen sakura, hence the full on picture for a change.

IMG_1607 IMG_1611

Just around the bend from the cherry trees is this amazing view. I almost fell of my bike.

IMG_1617

If you are anywhere near Mount Tsukuba and are tired of the RinRin, this a great alternative route.

Posted on April 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Gorgeous cherry blossom tree treats during your ride! By the way, choose a gentler yellow background. It’s hard on the eyes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

