Edogawa and Sekiyado

Ibaraki finally decided not to rain, blow a gale or snow for at least a little while. That meant I could get out and fulfil my “healthy me” lifestyle, well, at least until the end of the ride when I gorged on toasted cheese sandwiches. I got my bike loaded and a book playing through the old kindle. Ready for the 45 minute drive.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to go to one of the places on my pre-made choices map…Edogawa River starting at Sekiyado Museum which you can read about here and here. After the ride I took a look around, 200yen. There are no displays in English, but a helpful man gave me a pamphlet. I looked around the first/ground floor and then sat down to read the information, whereupon I was pounced on by the helpful man who said I had not finished yet, there were 4 floors, 4…take the elevator/lift (this is a bi/language post) and pushed me towards it. The top floor has views of Mount Fuji, if you have binoculars and good eyesight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The castle is built on a super-levee and the museum tells you how it was built and has information on local famous people. The grounds of the castle are covered in weird swimming animals, perfect place for a picnic really.

Anyway here is a map of the museum/castle. There are plenty of vending machines, a toilet, and a carpark/parking lot..and that is it I am done because I had to look that up. The route has none of these things so stock up and, well do your business.

This was by far the best cycle path I have ever cycled on, even better than the Rin-Rin, but not as pretty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Parts of the path are “regular” other parts are HUGE! like a two lane road, but with stoppers to stop cars. There are a couple of glider-ports along the route. I saw one coming in to land and I waited a bit up from the landing point thinking it would need a bit of space to stop..nope, they almost stop dead, quite impressive.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Along the route there are way markers to say how far it is to the end. The road goes all the way to the ocean, but I am not fit enough to check it out yet. I ended up going about 25km along the route then I looked for a bridge to the other side and there wasn’t one where I was so returned back along the same route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Along the route there are the usual for Japan roadworks and huge trucks, but get this..bikes have the right of way and men with sticks stop the trucks for the bikes πŸ™‚ There are even plastic flowers on the fence, I have never seen that before and stopped to take a picture. See above. At this point a bit of a weird thing happened. I was taking the picture when an old man who was cycling a bit behind me stopped to look at the construction information. He started chatting to me and asking me where I was from. Throughout the whole conversation I was distracted by his outfit..or rather what was not hidden by his outfit. He was wearing cycling shorts, but without any padding..and they were soooo tight. I could tell he wasn’t catholic, but he had been blessed by someone. Seriously, he was proud. So proud that he asked me to take his picture whereupon he basically stuck his hips out and said “ta daaaa!!!”. He then asked to take my picture, sure, not weird at all. When I started writing this blog I found he had photobombed my flower picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not a great picture, but I wasn’t trying to take a picture of that.

Anyway back at the castle, after speeding away from sausage man, I stopped to take pictures of the trees. They are just blooming now and in about a week or so they will be stunning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Around this area is a random bridge made from Sheffield steel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, to review…one castle, about 50km, gliders, inappropriately placed bridge, blooms and a sausage man. Good day πŸ™‚

You can find the course here, but really just follow the flat bike road.

Posted on February 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the link to the maps. Thanks to it, I have found some roots in my area that I will start to cycle when the weather gets better.

    Like

  2. Sounds like a great ride. I’d like to try it out on a warm, sunny day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

