Miyayama, Sannoudou, and a New Bike

I got a new bike this week. I say new, but it is second hand. I have been perusing a Giant catalogue recently and had finally decided on a bike that I liked…and there it was in a second hand shop. I have always liked their bikes as I was under the mistake notion that they were a British company from Nottingham where a lot of my family are from. And right now they are shouting…no, that is Raleigh bikes you idiot. So I bought an expensive bike from the wrong company. Giant bikes are from Taiwan, just down the road really. Bugger. Oh well, still a nice bike.

IMG_2267 IMG_2271

It’s not yellow so I leaned it on a yellow post and put a yellow phone holder on it. The best thing about the new big phones is that phone holders are now big enough to hold my GPS. Being a road bike it doesn’t have a kickstand and I am debating whether it would be uncool to add one.

Unfortunately as it is a second hand bike I didn’t have much choice about sizes and that is important. This website explains in great detail about the right bike fit. I tried it in the shop and it seemed ok, but riding it is another matter. I will have to make some adjustments before riding it a long distance again. Like moving the seat forward and lowering it a little..just a little as there isn’t much room for it to go down.

And where to go? I decided not to go far from home as it was forecast rain and it was cold. Plus it is a new bike to me so I was a little nervous. This is also my first real road bike and I wasn’t sure how stable I would be. I ended up staying in the “tops” position for most of the ride, unless I was pretending to be Mark Cavendish.

I ended up skirting around Mount Tsukuba and heading to…

Miyayamafurusatofureai Park

IMG_2270  IMG_2276

The route there passed by some shrines of course and the roads were nearly all empty. They were also flat and in fairly good condition. Here is the location of the park.

And now after looking at the website I linked to above I find there is a petting zoo! double bugger, I didn’t know that. What I did notice was loads of picnic squares and sakura trees. So, I think another ride in spring is called for, and a jolly good picnic or petting??

IMG_2277

I ended up at the back of the park with an impossible barrier. I thought and thought..how can I pass by this impenetrable obstruction. *finger click* I will walk under it. And there I was among the trees, hiking trails and the birthplace of Abe no Seimei.

IMG_2278 IMG_2280 IMG_2283 IMG_2284 IMG_2287  See, sakura trees.

I wandered around a bit and bought some strawberries. There is a local produce shop there. Usually when I finish a ride I eat lots of crap, which has meant I have lost zero kilos! So after this ride I am going to eat strawberries.

After my persual and mini hike….by the way did you notice I kept my helmet on, weirdo, I always forget to take it off. Luckily nobody spotted me hiking in a helmet. Anyway, I set off back passing the site of the Battle of Sannoudou. The link is from Wikipedia Japan, but if you use Google Chrome it will automatically translate it. Ain’t technology grand. I found some English information here. I am not going to write about the battle as the two websites have all the information you might want.

IMG_2288

It doesn’t look very ‘battle-y’. But if you are interested here is a map..

By the time I got back home I was a little sore. I will alter my bike a bit before my next jaunt or swap it for a Raleigh 🙂

And here is my mapmyride route.

Posted on February 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s a good find. I hope you got a good deal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

