I hate wind!

It feels like each weekend lately it has either been raining, snowing, or winding..is windy.

Today was no exception, but I decided to go out anyway. Due to the weather I decided to cycle around where I live. I knew if I went anywhere in my car I probably wouldn’t get out, just sit and ponder the gusts and life.

So I dressed up and off I trotted, peddled.

On another post I wrote about how to handle cycling in the wind. I took all my own advice. It helped but gosh it was windy today.

IMG_2223 IMG_2224

And as you can see by the pictures I live in quite a flat..no wind break area. Makes for a pleasant ride..not. But I went anyway, once more into the breach..for Harry, England, and Saint George! Though I don’t know anyone called Harry.

IMG_2225 IMG_2226

The strange building above I have been told is some kind of cult type thing. But I have never been in and don’t have the guts or Japanese to ask the man at the gate. What I do find interesting is the beginnings of a new road heading straight for it, but in fact nothing has progressed on that front for ages? Hmmm suspicious.

Anyway, my ride today was cold, windy, and browny-grey, apart from the sky.

IMG_2227 IMG_2228

There are a few small shrines along the route, but it is not a ride like last time.

IMG_2229 IMG_2230

Around this bridge I saw a bird of prey in the sky, maybe a hawk, carrying a HUGE fish. Honestly it was as big as the bird. I have never seen that before, only on TV.IMG_2231 IMG_2232

At this point I had to decide whether to follow the dyke type road or get some shelter at the side on a crappy road. I did a bit of both.

IMG_2234 IMG_2235 IMG_2236

Look at the wind! This flag was full on straight.

IMG_2237 shrines

IMG_2239 And why did I go out..because it is the 1st of February and I am going to try and get a cross of activity on each day. Oh, I am not going to burn tomorrow, it is the garbage day for burnables.

I won’t post a map because quite frankly it was rubbish. I used mapmyride again and prepared the map before I went, but I thought a river had a path at the side of it..which it did, but had a ruddy great fence too so I couldn’t get on to it. Score for the day 40km gusts, 26km distance, pooey attitude.

 

Posted on February 1, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. If you’re curious about Japanese road construction and why some of it goes incomplete, I suggest Alex Kerr’s Dogs and Demons. It goes quite a way into explaining the Japanese construction industry and its ties to the government. Quite fascinating really.

    Like

  2. It’s so cold that my poor sunny southern soul has shriveled up and died. I hate hiking into strong wind; I imagine it’s a thousand times worse when you’re on a bike!

    Like

  3. I just keep telling myself, it is good for my health. Yesterday I cycled 40km in rain…that is so much worse. Blooming GPS went nuts and sent me off on a mystery tour.

    Like

Leave a Reply

