Kamigo Shrine Cycle

Today was a national holiday so no work today, lots of time to do a ride. I explored the website and iphone app “mapmyride” yesterday and made my first route. I looked around a familiar place and marked all the shrines that I could see…there were a lot. I then plotted a route to go passed them all.

I tried to insert the route map here, but it doesn’t seem to be working. So click here to be redirected to it. The day I did it was a little windy, but I was prepared. I was wearing tighter clothes, not carrying a bag, on my better bike. So off I set.

IMG_2130 The route starts and ends in this park. It has plenty of car parking spaces, vending machines, and a toilet block.

Now let me talk about the kinds of roads or paths the route takes. Most of the route goes through villages and on main roads. You will cross a few train lines, so be careful there, especially at the unmanned crossing.

IMG_2142 IMG_2154

There were a couple of problems with the route, sometimes cause by Google’s accuracy and my own route planning. For instance I ended up at these steps, but could see the road above would be ok to ride on. I ended up pushing my bike up the hill.

IMG_2158 IMG_2159

The route around the lake at Sanuma park at coordinates 36.190689,139.951899 had an actual cycle path, but you are not supposed to ride over the bridge, get off and walk…it’s a nice walk and view. I saw cormorants and herons. This would a great place to stop for lunch or a picnic as it is about halfway along the circuit.

IMG_2200 IMG_2204

Some of the roads were barely roads, thanks Google, you are far too detailed at times.

IMG_2207

Then there was this road/dyke, being resurfaced. At first I was happy as there was a temporary road, flat and smooth. But can you see the fence? The road eventually turned into mud and soon was impassible. But I could not get over the fence, so had to back track a little.

IMG_2210 IMG_2211

On the whole though it was a pleasant ride, twisty at the start but you could pick up speed towards the end.

And now the shrines. I counted about 33 that I saw and photographed. As there were so many I only stopped briefly at most of them. Here is a gallery of the BSS (brief stop shrines).

There were a few shrines that I stayed longer at. This first one had one of the most interesting features I have seen at a shrine. There is no name on Google maps, but the coordinates are 36.109036,139.97366.

The island you see is covered in little shrines.

IMG_2143   IMG_2147 IMG_2148 IMG_2149 IMG_2150 IMG_2151 IMG_2152 IMG_2153

They look to be family shrines. Here is the main shrine.

IMG_2145 IMG_2146

The next one is at 36.121809,139.967649 and called Koshoji. I stopped at this one due to the magnificent entrance.

IMG_2160 IMG_2161 IMG_2162 Usually these statues are behind cages. So it was nice to see them up close and personal. All around the grounds were bonsai trees, I was going to write “little bonsai trees”, but I guess that goes without saying.

IMG_2163 IMG_2164 IMG_2165 IMG_2166 IMG_2167 I didn’t stay too long here as there was an angry dog, even though it was on a chain it made me feel uncomfortable.

The next one is called Jokoji and can be found at the coordinates 36.143693,139.958465

IMG_2170 IMG_2171 IMG_2173 IMG_2174 IMG_2175 IMG_2176 IMG_2177 IMG_2178 IMG_2179 IMG_2170

The last shrine I spent some time at is called Muneto Shrine at coordinates 36.159395,139.967418

IMG_2183 IMG_2184 IMG_2185 IMG_2186 IMG_2187 IMG_2188 IMG_2189 IMG_2190 IMG_2191

There were plenty of other things to see along the route, I had a great day. I cycled around 45km and saw about 33 shrines. I think there were more as the route sometimes seemed to be a little crazy at times, why would I do that if there wasn’t a reason.

I really liked the app MapMyRide and will use it again.

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That shrine-covered island is VERY intriguing …

    Like

  2. Ah. It might be Saifuku-ji, based on your coordinates:
    http://www.jahikari.or.jp/kouhou32.html
    Those small shrines on the island seem to represent the 88 temples of the Shikoku Pilgrimage, so you’ve just undertaken a HUUUGE journey. 😀

    Like

    • Wow thanks, it seemed a bit weird for such a middle-of-nowhere place. Now it makes a bit more sense. Pity is was so neglected, but it was very atmospheric.

      Like

Leave a Reply

