Lake Hinuma

Today was a lovely day so I decided to drive to another lake and try to cycle around it. I looked at the map and saw a good place to park.


When I arrived I found the place was a practically deserted nature park. The trees where I live and in Tokyo are just starting to turn, but this place is further north and the trees were stunning. I left the bike in my car and wandered around.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look, told you it was deserted. But the carpark is huge so I think it must get really busy sometimes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking at the map there are hydrangers, cherry trees etc. So it doesn’t matter when you come there is something to see, but this is autumn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stunning colours, a few people were taking pictures, but it wasn’t overwhelmed by people.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the dragon fly bridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA This spider is very common in Japan, be careful if you walk off the path as there are webs everywhere.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t stay in the park long as I had looked at the map and knew that there was not a path all the way around the lake. I expected to have to take detours and didn’t know how long it would take.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Compared to the lake I cycled around last week this one seemed much more “natural” as far as things can be natural in Japan. As you can see in the picture above many of the paths were rough to say the least. A cross bike or mountain bike is needed, do not attempt this with a road bike. The sides of the lake were still covered by concrete in most sections, but there were incidents of a sandy shore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were many more birds here too, cormorants, swans, herons..and I swear I saw a stork…or it might have been an ergret on steroids.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The lake is used for many things. The day I was there I saw fishing, wind surfers, fishing, boating, camping, fishing..there were many fishermen. The north side of the lake did have some long sections of cycle paths, but the south side had none, and for some of the route you had to move away from the lake entirely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A relaxing fisherman, being respectful of others…unlike the fishermen below who completely blocked the path and forced any one else off the path. I was looking at the birds at the time and almost ran into the rods, kind of wish I had.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Following Google Maps can be interesting at times. How it knew this temporary bridge was here I don’t know..who adds that to the map?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were many ginko trees around the lake too. I love the colour yellow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The route I took seemed to be about 28km, not so long. After I finished a friend who lived nearby invited me for lunch which was just the thing I need as I didn’t snack or eat all the way round.

Posted on November 23, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. There are some stunning colours in your photos–fantastic. Looks like a fantastic place for a ride. Of course that could be because it really isn’t very crowded now–though a big car park suggests it can be.

    Like

    • When it is a season for something, like cherry blossom, everything gets busy. I think this car park is used for the lake too. There are lots of camping grounds around, which probably fills the other car parks in the summer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

