Just a Rin

Today I cycled to one end of the Rin-Rin in Tsukuba then cycled half the route. I will cycle the rest on another day as this trip was 75km for me. The whole Rin-Rin is about 42km.

I have cycled it before a couple of times so I was not too bothered by not finishing it today.

Here is a map of the start of the Rin Rin from Iwase.

And here is a link to a map of the whole RinRin route.

My cycle to the starting point took me 40km, I used my gps to avoid going uphill. It was a perfect day for a ride. A porridge day, not too hot, not too cold.

IMG_1930 IMG_1929

The vegetables were out and so was I.

IMG_1938 IMG_1935 IMG_1936

The butterflies were out too.

I had planned on going to Mcdonalds for breakfast, but when I arrived at the RinRin I was so happy that I just kept cycling. I didn’t go out last weekend and felt a bit hard done by, what with my nice clean bike and all. Then I realised how lucky I am, not going out one weekend and I feel sad. It means I go out a lot and have loads of places to go.

IMG_1939

This is the map at the start of the route, the real route. Just to prove I was actually there. The rinrin is an old railway route that was turned into a cycle path. It is also lined with cherry trees so is stunning to ride along in the spring. It is a great route at any time of the year though. With rest stations (bathrooms) along the route, a 7/11, cafes and places to hire bicycles, plus it is flat…what more could you want?

IMG_1947  IMG_1954 IMG_1950 IMG_1946 IMG_1944 IMG_1948

There are abandoned stations along the way which are perfect for a rest or a picnic. And handy mile markers so you know how far you have come or gone.

IMG_1963 IMG_1965 IMG_1962

Of course there are great views of Mount Tsukuba all the way along the route.

IMG_1966

This is one of the places where you can hire bicycles. There is a shop around the corner where you can get a key to a lock. This place also has car parks and is on the bus route if you don’t want to cycle there.

IMG_1955 IMG_1958 IMG_1961 IMG_1957 IMG_1951 IMG_1952

This time I got to mile/km marker 19ish and stopped for a coffee at the place I usually stop. At that point I checked my map and if I finished it and went home it would be a 90+km day and I wasn’t up for that. So I decided to quit and go back another day from that point to finish it and then cycle home.

Each time I go on this route I stop at

ピットストップつくば北条

Which you can find here:


I recommend this place for a number of reasons…

  • It has a car park and they don’t mind you leaving your car while you cycle
  • The coffee is great and only 300yen with a biscuit
  • The lady who works there speaks English and is very friendly.
    • She remembered me from a year ago and could chat to me about my summer holiday, bit spooky but nice
  • I think they have bikes to rent and equipment to fix bikes
  • There is a clean toilet
  • You can get food at certain times of the day, but just ask the kind lady
  • It has the best cherry trees nearby
  • And best of all it is almost half way between the two ends if you don’t want to cycle up and down the whole thing twice.

I enjoyed today, when I first cycled this route I could not make 25km, so I am pleased with today’s efforts.

 

Posted on September 23, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

