Watarase Ryokuchi Park, Tochigi

Another scorching day, at least a real feel of 34. There is supposed to be a storm coming so I want to get out while I can. Plus I will have to start work soon. For this jaunt I remembered to take more water and drank 3 litres, but still only managed 25km. I am finding the little yellow bike is much harder to travel around on than my bigger white bike. Less gears, smaller wheels, and I never wear cycle shorts… because it is just a jaunt not a trek. That might change after today.

Here a map of the area I cycled around, as you can see the lake/reservoir is shaped like a heart. It says lake on the map…but it looked A LOT like a reservoir to me.

There are lots of free parking spaces all around the lake. I stayed in car park number 1 as it seemed to be huge on the map. There is also a toilet block, picnic area (no BBQ please), and cycle hire if you don’t have a little yellow bike. The coordinates for the toilet block are: 36.226394, 139.669506. If you can read/speak Japanese there are lots of water sports around here. Or a bird hide for the more relaxed of you.

This was a lookout and a bit of information center at the top of the car park. The cycle hire and toilets are at the other end..walk away from this if that is where you want to go.

IMG_1517

 

From the top you can see all around, flat and full of vegetation.

IMG_1511 IMG_1512 IMG_1513 IMG_1514

There are binoculars to look even further or spy on the wildlife. There are some mountains in the background and you will find a sign in this building with the names of them.

IMG_1515

I set off away from the car park and the heart shaped lake, silly me. But as you can see the road was so empty and inviting.

IMG_1520

 

Yeap, on this blog I am even going to add a few pictures of me. Not many, so enjoy my happiness!!IMG_1521 IMG_1522IMG_1523

 

Depending on where you are the roads switch from tarmac to gravel. Both are flat and somewhat monotonous. At this time of year the reeds are so tall that I, short little me, could not see over them. I also got hit by a few flying cicadas, which was not pleasant.

 

IMG_1524

IMG_1526

This speaker was by a gate and was activated by movement. When you got close to it a woman’s voice blared out, “oi you on the bike, take your rubbish home with you, and don’t go starting any fires or such like…you untrustworthy gaijin!!!”

No it didn’t..apart from the rubbish part.

I cycled around for a bit contemplating, why are the caches so far apart, why can’t I find any, why didn’t I go to the toilet, why is it so hot making me drink so much, the tarmac feels like fire, oh god I hope I don’t get a puncture, why are all the bridges closed….crap I need to go over that one to get to the shrine I also want to visit.

IMG_1539

Bugger it, I am sure it means no cars, not..no bumblebikes!?

IMG_1540 IMG_1541

 

See, nice sturdy bridge after all.

 

After risking life and limb crossing this bridge I went to a nearby shrine, the coordinates are: 36.215383, 139.707979

This is Nogi Shrine and has a special purpose.

IMG_1527 IMG_1528 IMG_1529 IMG_1530 IMG_1531 IMG_1533 IMG_1534 IMG_1535 IMG_1537 IMG_1536  IMG_1538

Boobies!! Apparently these are made from rice bran and women leave them here when they pray for good breast milk for their babies. Boobs and hearts all in one day. Well, that was worth the cycle 🙂

Anyway back to the lake and my car.

IMG_1543

Reservoir!!

IMG_1545 IMG_1546 IMG_1544 YES YES YES

IMG_1547

 

This is at the other end of the car park, if you go the sensible way first. This is where you can rent bicycles and buy more water.

 

I think I will have a break now for a few days. Too much bumblebike is bad for the bumblebum.

 

References
http://www.achikochi-kanko.jp/spot/detail.php?kaidoId=&categoryId=1&lang=english&spotId=2250

 

Posted on August 7, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

