Lake Inbanuma, Inzai, Chiba

Ok, now for the first real post. Actually I thought of the blog after I got back so I didn’t take too many photos..but I did take some.

IMG_1499

You can find the lake at these coordinates: 35.759302, 140.221040 and here is the map.

I found a little information about the area online, but my main reason for going was to geocache. There were lots in the area and on the map it looked a pleasant place to spend a day. It also looked like there was a convenient place to park, with a handy convenience..which is always good. On getting there I was proved right, Futago Park is right next to the lake and has free parking, yes free! for as long as you like, that is quite rare for Japan.

As you can see on the map the lake is actually joined to another, Lake Tega-numa by a channel. I had already decided to just cycle up the channel and back down the other side. As it turned out, it was hot..really hot maybe 35+ so I only cycled about 15km in all, ran out of water and turned back. Which means I can do it again another day. Please note there are no stores or vending machines along the route I took, I know.. shocker for Japan, so take plenty of water and use the toilet in the park before you set off.

IMG_1496 IMG_1497

These pictures were taken on the other side of the parking lot a little way down.

IMG_1498  

As you can see by the photo of the channel the lake has a lot of plant life and has experienced progressive eutrophication lately. I looked it up, it means “rich in nutrients and so supporting a dense plant population, the decomposition of which kills animal life by depriving it of oxygen.” 

So maybe not so many fish, but I did see a few fishermen and fisher birds such as egrets. So there must be something there.

IMG_1500

The route goes under a few bridges and passes a metal art museum, which was closed for the summer…shame, I bet it had a vending machine and toilets.

IMG_1501  IMG_1503 

So a lovely day out for the better prepared. With a good path, straight and true..no punctures, no bumps, 14 caches found. Not much seen..apart from these weird elephant statues in the park??

IMG_1504 IMG_1502 

and a bridge with a elephant motif.

IMG_1505

Apparently the fossil remains of a Naumann elephant where found in the area in 1966. Other elephant fossils have been found in Nagano and Hokkaido. The Japanese website below says take a romantic look at the elephants and imagine them coming to drink the water in the lake. I would have…but I was actually very thirsty at the time. 

References:
http://wldb.ilec.or.jp/data/databook_html/asi/asi-29.html
http://www.worldlakes.org/lakedetails.asp?lakeid=8387
http://itot.jp/12231/93

Posted on August 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hallo! It’s your Seven Lucky Gods fan here. 🙂 I’m quite sure you know about this author/cyclist, but on the off chance that you don’t …
    Josie Dew cycled through Japan and wrote two books about it, The Sun in my Eyes and A Ride in the Neon Sun. Wonderful sense of humour, and a jolly good read.

    Like

    • Hello again 🙂 no I didn’t know about her so I just ordered a couple of her books. Maybe I will have to cycle around the sky tree as a thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

